Skip to main content

State Emergency Response Commission (SERC)

The State Emergency Response Commission consists of 17 members, eight ex officio members, including the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Secretary of Transportation, the Commissioner of Health, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets, the Commissioner of Labor, the Director of Fire Safety, and the Director of Emergency Management, or designees; and nine public members, including a representative from each of the following: local government, the local emergency planning committee, a regional planning commission, the fire service, law enforcement, emergency medical service, a hospital, a transportation entity required under EPCRA to report chemicals to the State Emergency Response Commission, and another entity required to report extremely hazardous substances under EPCRA.

The SERC is charged with carrying out all the requirements of a commission under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 11000-11050 (1986) (EPCRA).

§ 30. State Emergency Response Commission; creation

§ 31. State Emergency Response Commission; duties


  • SERC Amended By-Laws - The rules which govern how the SERC functions. Adopted August 15, 2018.
  • SERC Proxy Form - to be used by appointed public members of the SERC who are unable to attend a SERC meeting and wish to have someone attend and vote on all matters in their name.